Les Miserables, 25th anniversary reproduction… Toronto 2013

Standard

les miserables les miserables play my mother and me, awaiting to go in

On Oct. 16, 2013. I went with my mother to see Les Miserables, the 25th Anniversary Reproduction, at the Princess of Wales Theatre in Toronto, Canada.

I am personally a huge fan, of Victor Hugo, and his masterpiece “Les Miserables”. I have watched the Recent Hollywood Musical, an old french series of movies, telling the story of Les Miserables with Gérard Depardieu, read the novel, in both english and French.  I can say I am well familiar with the topic, and the plot of the theatre. Unlike, my mother who has never watched or read it.

Princess of Wales theatre

Anyway, I personally loved it, I got us tickets, right in the middle on the orchestra floor, and we could see all the aspects of the stage clearly. The beginning was amazing, the costumes, the stage design, the music, the actors attracted you to the story and made you a part of it. It felt like you a part of the story. Now lets talk about my favorite character, and how did the actors meet my expectations:

toronto

Jean Valjean the main character of the play: was portrayed in the play by Ramin Karimloo. Lets say this role has been previously played by Hugh Jackman, and Gérard Depardieu… So my expectations were pretty high… Lets put it this way, Jackman and Depardieu, were filmed and could make ,mistakes, then just play it again until they get it right. Karimloo, did not have that option, if he made a mistake, it would have reflected on the whole company. He was under much more pressure. Was my expectations met, did he play well? To tell the truth, not only were my expectations met, his acting amazed me, and it was truly over the top performance.

The role of Javert, the mean police officer that always chased after Valjean. He was portrayed by Earl Carpenter. Javert actually is not one of my favourite characters, But the way Carpenter has played this role, made me see a new side of the too by the book police officer. His acting was brilliant.

All the children actors, were superb again, such a young age, but clearly they have talent.

Thenardier, again not one of my favorite characters, but the way Cliff Saunders portrayed him was just magnificent. Him and Mme. Thenardier, who was portrayed by Lisa Horner, were the much needed comic relief to the much more intense scenes. I believe this was a magnificent duo, and they have played them just right, just like you would have expected them to be after the book. (well almost just)

Anyways, if I had to pick between a movie of this Victor’s Hugo classic or play. The play wins by the long jump. The experience of sitting in a theatre and watching the story unfold is just too precious to miss, by sitting in a movie theatre.  I just loved that experience,and would recommend it to anyone to watched it, even if you are not a fan of live plays.

victor hugo

anyways, while I liked many of the songs from the musical… My favourite after this is:

ABC Café/Red and Black- Enjolras, Marius, and the students

Anyways, Hope you like it…

Until next time,

Cristi Ray

PS: If you don’t know what is “Les Miserables”, then its time for you to go and find out)

NaBloPoMo 2013: Post # 1

Leave a Reply

